The Alex B. Shipley, M.D. award is to be presented to an employee of a regional or local health department who has made outstanding contributions in the field of public health over a period of several years. The winner of the 2016 award is Dr. Shavetta Conner, the Medical Director for the West Region of the Tennessee Department of Health. Dr Conner was nominated for both her public health activities which were obviously work related, but also for her community service that she performed on her own time.


TPHA Award Recipients

Alex B. Shipley, MD, Award

Presented to an employee of a regional or local health department who has made outstanding contributions in the field of public health over a period of several years.

1986     Dr. C. D. Huffman, Mid-Cumberland Regional Office

1987     Dr. Robert Q. Ingraham, Southwest Regional Office

1987     Doris G. Spain, Mid-Cumberland Regional Office

1988     Jean Bickel, Cannon County Health Department

1989     Anthony W. Harden, Southwest Regional Office

1990     Hugh A. Barnes, Memphis-Shelby County Health Department

1991     Patricia Harden, West Tennessee Regional Office

1993     Martha Barber, West Tennessee Regional Office

1994     Dr. Charles Chapman, First Tennessee Regional Office

1995     Bill H. Ray, Sullivan County Health Department

1996     Eloise E. C. Waters, Bradley County Health Department

1997     Sammie Walker, West Tennessee Regional Office

1998     Carla Coley, Benton, Carroll, & Henry County Health Departments

1999     Sam Rose, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Health Department

2000     Betty Thompson, Metro Davidson County Health Department

2001     Barbara Medlin, Jackson-Madison County Health Department

2002     Carole A. Martin, East Tennessee Regional Office

2003     Richard Swiggart, West Tennessee Assessment and Planning

2004     Suellen Joyner, South Central Regional Office

2005     Marilyn Wortman, Dyer County Health Department

2006     Marilyn Barnes, Lake, Dyer, Crockett, & Obion County Health Departments

2007     Sandy Halford, East Tennessee Regional Office

2008     Cathy Maxwell, Giles County Health Department

2009     Dr. Lori Macdonald, Mid-Cumberland Regional Office

2010     Margaret Hamilton, South Central Regional Office

2011     Debbie Johnson, Upper Cumberland Regional Office

2012     Tim Carson, Washington County Health Department

2013     Sherrie Montgomery, East Tennessee Region

2014     Dr. John Cummings, West Tennessee Region

2015     Danni Lambert, East Tennessee Region

2016     Dr. Shavetta Conner