Public Health Work Group Award: Mid-Cumberland Regional Office Warner Team


The Public Health Workgroup of the Year Award is presented to a group, unit, or department that has made an outstanding contribution to public health.  The winner of the 2016 award is the  Mid-Cumberland Regional Office Warner Team.  This is a large group of 36 employees from the Mid-Cumberland Regional Office who consulted with a local school and began a reading support project for 29 children needing assistance.  In the process of doing this, the group found out details of the family lives of their students, which in many cases was shocking to the team members.  The group has not only focused on improving the student’s reading skills, but also to improve other aspects of their lives.