Doris Spain Award for Distinguished Service: Dr. Paul Erwin

The Distinguished Service Award was renamed in 2016 in honor of Doris Spain upon her retirement as executive director of the Tennessee Public Health Association.  This award is presented to a member who has made outstanding contributions to the Association over a period of several years. The 2018 winner of the Doris Spain Award for Distinguished Service is Dr. Paul Erwin shown here at the Annual Conference in September with (L-R) Dr. John Dreyzehner, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Health, Doris Spain, former TPHA Executive Director, and Susan Porter, 2017-18 TPHA President.

Past Award Recipients

Doris Spain Award for Distinguished Service

2016      Paula Masters, East Tennessee State University

2017      Marian Levy, DrPH, University of Memphis School of Public Health

Distinguished Service Award

1973     Pat M. Winters, Secretary to Dr. Cecil B. Tucker

1973     Allie Farmer, Print Shop

1974     Dr. R. H. Hutcheson, Sr., Commissioner of Health

1974     Dr. Cecil B. Tucker, Deputy Commissioner of Health

1975     Dr. Alex B. Shipley, East Tennessee Regional Office

1975     Dr. R. M. Neudecker, West Tennessee Regional Office

1976     Ernest L. Shipe, Jr., Knoxville Branch Laboratory

1976     Joe Covington, Environmental Sanitation

1977     Dr. Homer P. Hopkins, Policy Planning

1979     Dr. Eugene W. Fowinkle, Commissioner of Health

1980     Dr. Durward R. Collier, Dental Health Services

1981     Dr. Mary B. Duffy, Knox County Health Department

1982     Sara Hood, Bureau of Environment

1982     Gerald E. Ingram, Bureau of Environment

1983     Mary Jane Sassaman, Laboratory Services

1984     Kenneth W. Sanders, Metro Davidson County Health Department

1985     Mary H. Mincey, East Tennessee Regional Office

1986     Charles Wood, Food and General Sanitation

1987     Doris G. Spain, Mid-Cumberland Regional Office

1988     Patricia Kempson Hager, Dental Health Services

1989     Janey Blackburn, Division of Information Resources

1990     Sandy Johnson Bowers, East Tennessee Region/Johnson City

1991     Larna Grindstaff Smith, Johnson City Environmental Field Office

1993     Dr. Fredia S. Wadley, Metro Davidson County Health Department

1993     Sandra J. Whittle, TPHA Office

1994     Martha Barber, West Tennessee Regional Office

1995     Hugh A. Barnes, Memphis-Shelby County Health Department

1996     Carol Ballard, Memphis-Shelby County Health Department

1997     Howard W. Roddy, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Health Department

1998     Becky Barnes, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Health Department

1999     Dr. Tony Emison, Jackson-Madison County Health Department

2000     DeeDee McKimm, Memphis-Shelby County Health Department

2001     Peggy Tackett, Montgomery County Health Department

2002     Dr. Wendy J. Long, Assistant Commissioner of Health

2002     Dr. James A. Gillcrist, Oral Health Services

2003     Dr. David Brumley, South Central Regional Office

2004     Rick Long, Mid-Cumberland Regional Office

2004     Annette Haley, Mid-Cumberland Regional Office

2005     Tommy Smith, West Tennessee Region, Union City Office

2006     Vanessa Watkins, Robertson & Cheatham County Health Departments

2007     Dr. Allen Craig, Communicable & Environmental Disease Services

2008     Bart Perkey, Metro Davidson County Health Department

2009     Tammy Burke, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Health Department

2009     Jennifer Kozlica, Southeast Regional Office

2010     Dot Watson, Middle Tennessee TPHA Board Representative

2011     Becky Brumley, Williamson County Health Department

2012     Glenn Czarnecki, Southeast Regional Health Office

2013     Ami Mitchell, South Central Regional Health Office

2014     Robert Goff, Southeast Regional Health Office

2015     Evelyn Vaillencourt, Upper Cumberland Regional Office