PAL Award (Group): Middle Tennessee Rural Reentry Program


Similar to the individual award, the Partners and Leadership (PAL) Group Award is presented to a non-public health professional group or organization who has made a significant contribution on behalf of public health.  The winner for 2018 is the Overmountain Recovery Program in Gray, Tennessee.  Pictured here accepting the award is Program Director Laurie Street along with (L-R) Dr. John Dreyzehner, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Health, Christen Minnick, County Director for Washington County, and  Susan Porter, 2017-18 TPHA President.

Past Award Recipients

1999     Dr. Robert C. Coddington, Chattanooga (Individual)

2000     Dr. James P. Guider, Loudon (Individual)

2000     The Communications Group, Little Rock, AR (Group)

2001     Dwight E. Murphy, Scott County Executive (Individual)

2001     Music City Division Program Services – March of Dimes (Group)

2002     Claude Ramsey, Hamilton County Executive (Individual)

2002     Clay County Health Council (Group)

2003     Kathy Krone Johnson, Reporter, Dyersburg (Individual)

2004     Laura T. Harrill, Blount County Health Improvement Initiative (Individual)

2004     Junior League of Murfreesboro (Group)

2005     Dot Watson, Partners for Healing, Tullahoma (Individual)

2005     Dispensary of Hope, Rutherford County (Group)

2006     Pickett County Health Council (Group)

2007     Dr. Ray Burden, U.T. Extension – Hamilton County (Individual)

2007     Unicoi County High School Horticulture Class (Group)

2008     Mary Heinzen, Hardeman County Community Health Center (Individual)

2009     Doug Lockard, Trenton Housing Authority (Individual)

2010     Hardin County Health Council (Group)

2011     Keela Dement, Vanderbilt Life Flight (Individual)

2011     Early Intervention and Mechanical Engineering Project at Tennessee Tech (Group)

2012     James and Mildred Mooreland, East Chattanooga, Inc.

2013     Dr. Robert Ottley, South Central Region (Individual)

2014     Ms. Sherrie Smith, East Tennessee Region (Individual)

2015     Judge Duane Slone (Individual)

2015     Clarksville-Montgomery County Community Health Foundation (Group)

2016     Karen Pershing, Metro Drug Coalition of Knox County (Individual)

2016     Cast and Crew of the Fabulous Fifties Show, Fayetteville (Group)

2017     Paula Chilton, Coordinated School Health (Individual)

2017     Middle Tennessee Rural Reentry Program (Group)