R.H. Hutcheson Sr. MD Award: Susan Porter, RN

The R. H. Hutcheson, Sr., M.D., award is a career award presented to a person in the field of public health who has made outstanding contributions to public health over a period of years. The 2018 winner is Susan Porter shown here at the TPHA Annual Conference in September with (L) Dr. John Dreyzehner, Commissioner, Tennessee Department of Health and (R) Dr. Shavetta Cooper, Regional Medical Officer.

Past Winners

1975     Sammie G. Shapiro, Division of Nursing

1976     Dean John P. Lamb, East Tennessee State University

1977     James L. Church, Bureau of Environmental Sanitation

1978     Jane Smoot, Upper Cumberland Regional Office

1979     Ernest Barnard, Johnson City Branch Laboratory

1980     James Payne, Division of Tuberculosis Control

1981     Hazel H. Fowler, Health Services Administration

1982     Helen Booth, South Central Regional Office

1983     Dr. Joseph M. Bistowish, Metro Davidson County Health Department

1984     Dorothy Latimer, Obion County Health Department

1985     Dr. H. R. Anderson, Division of Tuberculosis Control

1986     Sarah Rice Miller, Dyer County Health Department

1987     Dr. A. J. Mueller, Jackson-Madison County Health Department

1988     Dr. Mary B. Duffy, Knox County Health Department

1989     Dr. Robert H. Hutcheson, Jr., Communicable Disease Control

1990     Wilbur Bailey, Jackson-Madison County Health Department

1991     Al Taylor, Memphis-Shelby County Health Department

1993     Sumner Glassco, Memphis-Shelby County Health Department

1994     Dr. Durward R. Collier, Oral Health Services Section

1995     Howard W. Roddy, Chattanooga-Hamilton County Health Department

1996     Anthony W. Harden, West Tennessee Regional Office

1997     Larry A. Bowles, East Tennessee Regional Office

1998     Sherryl Midgett, Bureau of Health Services, Nashville

1999     Nancy Gilliam, West Tennessee Regional Office

2000     Rena Mills, East Tennessee Regional Office

2001     Kate Wells, Office of Vital Records

2002     Dr. Fredia S. Wadley, Commissioner of Health

2003     Hugh Barnes, Southeast Regional Office

2004     Dr. Charles B. Hamilton, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

2005     Rick Long, Mid-Cumberland Regional Office

2006     Patti Harden, West Tennessee Regional Office

2007     Jo Ann Armbrister, East Tennessee Regional Office

2008     Dr. David E. Brumley, South Central Regional Office

2009     Janet Ridley, Southeast Regional Office

2010     Fred Adams, Northeast Regional Office

2011     Becky Barnes, Chattanooga/Hamilton County Health Department

2012     Jackie Neas, Greene County Health Department

2013     Charlene Nunley, Southeast Region

2014     Charlene Haynes, Mid Cumberland Region

2015     Amanda McElyea, Northeast Tennessee Region

2016     Dr. Tim Jones, Central Office

2017     Dr. Charles Parker